Home > About > News

Current News


(Photo courtesy/Darby Hinkley) Winners of the Fourth Annual Student Film Competition at the Thunder Bay International Film Festival were announced Saturday after the finalists’ films were shown at Alpena Community College. Pictured, from left to right, are first place winner Akia Rutherford from Rogers City High School, and second place winners Noah Fetty, Matthew Guest, and Tanner Hatch from Alpena High School. Awards were sponsored by the Friends of Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary and Michigan Sea Grant for five of the 12 selected and screened films. This year, the competition had 48 entries from six Michigan schools. Twelve were selected to be screened at the film festival. Students submitted films 5 minutes or less in length about the theme “Exploration Is…” All the winning films will be posted on the Friends of Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary Facebook page and the Northeast Michigan Great Lakes Stewardship Initiative's website. 

Click here to read the rest of the article. 

Created on Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Contact Northeast Michigan Great Lakes Stewardship Initiative

Northeast Michigan GLSI network programs and materials are open to all without regard to race, color, national or ethnic origin, gender, gender identity, religion, age, height, weight, disability, political beliefs, sexual orientation, marital status, family status, or veteran status.

2020 NEMIGLSI Leadership Team Bar

AMA-Iosco Math Science Center Americorps U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Great Lakes Fishery Trust Great Lakes Stewardship Initiative Community Foundation Northeast Michigan Huron Pines Cheboygan-Otsego-Presque Isle ESD Alpena-Montmorency-Alcona ESD Michigan Department of Natural Resources Northeast Michigan Council of Governments Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary 4-H MSU Extension Michigan Sea Grant NOAA